SJRWMD slide 1 SJRWMD slide 2 SJRWMD slide 3 SJRWMD slide 4 SJRWMD slide 5 SJRWMD slide 6
SJRWMD logo for print -

Water bodies, watersheds and storm water

Springs Protection Initiative

Meet the Technical Team

Name:Dean Dobberfuhl

Title:Bureau Chief, Bureau of Water Resources


  • Doctorate, Biology/Ecology, Arizona State University
  • Bachelor of Science, Biology, University of Texas at Arlington


Dr. Dobberfuhl has been with the district since August 1999, specializing in aquatic ecology, wetland ecology and restoration.

Primary Initiative Responsibility:

Dr. Dobberfuhl leads the biogeochemistry work group, which is engaged in collaborative research with a corresponding work group of faculty and scientists at the University of Florida. The team’s research focuses on nutrient loading and bio­geochemical transforma­tions in the soil and aquifer.

Name:Robert A. Mattson

Title:Environmental Scientist V


  • Master of Science, Zoology, University of South Florida
  • Bachelor of Arts, Biology, University of South Florida


Mattson has been with the district since August 2005, with more than 30 years experience in the assessment and management of Florida aquatic ecosystems. His work focuses on the aquatic ecology of springs and spring run streams of the St. Johns River basin.

Primary Initiative Responsibility:

Mattson is lead scientist and head of the biology work group.


In this section
More about


Governing Board meetings
Please see agendas for specific meeting times, which may differ monthly.

Lobbyist registration requirements

Other district meetings and notices

Central Florida Water Initiative

Tell us how
we are doing.

Take our survey on
customer service.

By accessing this site, you agree to accept terms and conditions of the district’s liability disclaimer.

Employee Portal

St. Johns River Water Management District
4049 Reid Street, Palatka, FL 32177
(800) 725-5922